Disproving Stereotypes.

Whilst revising for my GCSE German exam the other day I came across something that I was quite shocked about. Apparently, a well known stereotype of Britons is that we’re notoriously bad cooks. When sharing this information with other people it came as news to nobody but everyone seemed surprised I didn’t know or realise.

Researching into this more I discovered why I seemed to think the British were well known for their good food:

I live in a small village, population just short of 8,500, but it is not uncommon at all to see tourists walking through the village whilst visiting the local restaurants. There are 5 restaurants in the heart of the village- 2 pubs,1 Italian celebrity chef’s restaurant and 2 three-Michelin-starred restaurants. It is quite unlikely that 2 out of the 4 three-Michelin-starred eateries in the UK would be situated in a small village where nothing much goes on. (But we do happen to possess a vicar whom a famous hymn was written about!!) This makes the ratio of people to 3 star restaurants 1:4213 which is higher than any other place in the world! (I think- if my research is correct) Paris having a ratio of 1:728405 and Tokyo slightly worse at 1:853666.

So if this record is held in such an insignificant little village in the UK then we can’t really be bad cooks can we? I will admit that one of the restaurants is French, but still, the statistic stands. Point proven.

8 thoughts on “Disproving Stereotypes.

  1. Lol, I would love to go and eat at a pub one day. I read a book that made it sound wonderfully delicious. I am a picker eater, too! And yeah who cares if it is French, it is in your British place of residence!!! lol

    • Another thing I learnt on the same day- you don’t get pubs in America. That’s crazy!! Every single little village has at least one pub, probably many. I don’t understand how other countries can survive without them? Where do people go if they want to drink but not go clubbing? Haha, thanks, glad my point still stands 🙂

  2. They don’t have many pubs in America? That sounds weird><
    Are you sure?

    Anyway, I don't agree with this stereotype or anything – but the fact that one village has good cooks doesn't mean anything about the rest of Britian :O
    But stereotypes are stupid this way or another, and I'm sure British are as great cooks as any!

  3. I may be just very gullible, but that’s what I was told!?

    Nah, I was just proving why I never thought we were bad cooks because I grew up in a small village where it was famous for it’s good cooks.

    You can go in them as kids for food but I think in the evening it’s 16? and you can drink in a pub at 16 if you’re eating and with someone over 18…

    • That’s cool. In Israel they don’t let you in if you’re under 18. Usually, I mean. I was at a pub the other day, and not only did they not ask me to leave, the bartender actually offered me a drink – so you never know around here, I guess. I don’t drink, although I do love pubs.
      (I’m under 16).

Leave a Reply

